Create report that have many columns

Getting your data onto paper - or the web - Discussing the reports features of Base
msngu72

Create report that have many columns

Post by msngu72 »

Hi,
I am new to openoffice. I want to create a report in OpenOffice Database. How to create a report which can display to multiples pages because i have too many column which cannot fix into a single page width.
Hope someone that is expert to this can help.

Thanks
openoffice 4.1.0
Windows 7 Professional
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: create report that have many columns

Post by Villeroy »

Use Calc as alternative report engine: [Tutorial] Using registered datasources in Calc
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
MTP
Volunteer

Post by MTP »

I'm not sure I understand what you are asking. Is this correct: you have created tables, and your tables have data in them? And you want a read-only (no data entry) way to view this data over multiple pages in a Writer (the default Form/Report) or a Calc file?
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows 10, HSQLDB 1.8 split database
Villeroy
Volunteer

Post by Villeroy »

A Writer report is limited to a paper sheet layout which becomes messy when you dump 20 columns side by side. On a spreadsheet you can view up to 1024 columns, show and hide columns, format them nicely and print them in different ways.

P.S. I just noticed that I can open an embedded report for editing, turn on menu:View>WebLayout, do some dummy edit (insert and delete some character) drag column as wide as needed, save the report and the web layout remains fixed for this particular report.
Last edited by Villeroy on Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
msngu72

Re: Create report that have many columns

Post by msngu72 »