[Solved] Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Solved] Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby nichollsvi » Mon May 03, 2021 10:40 pm

Hi,
I have Ooma, and it uses the right arrow to separate the fields. Looks like: https://www.calculators.org/math/html-arrows.php, U+02192. How do I, when I import this data in, get the information separated into columns using that?

I took a look at the FAQ and I think from what I saw, it was all standard.

Thanks,

Vic
Last edited by nichollsvi on Wed May 05, 2021 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
nichollsvi
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby RusselB » Tue May 04, 2021 12:33 am

In the Text Import Dialog there is an option where you can enter a custom character where you have the common separators.
It's marked as Other:
Beside that word you can one or more characters that are custom to your situation.
You'll have to get the actual character (what you see, not the ASCII value), copy it, then paste into the box marked Other
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
 
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby nichollsvi » Tue May 04, 2021 1:06 pm

Have you ever tried that? That's why I'm asking on here.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
nichollsvi
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby RusselB » Tue May 04, 2021 2:48 pm

Yes I have used the Other option
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
 
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby nichollsvi » Tue May 04, 2021 3:07 pm

So you've taken a copy of it and put it in the actual other box? I can't get that to happen.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
nichollsvi
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby RusselB » Tue May 04, 2021 4:37 pm

Make sure you get just the character.
Copy/paste can include unwanted hidden characters.
Your best bet is to copy the character from the file.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
 
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby nichollsvi » Tue May 04, 2021 5:17 pm

If you imported from Ooma you would know that the character disappears on a basic import and that you can't screen the character.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
nichollsvi
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby RusselB » Tue May 04, 2021 5:25 pm

I never said I'd imported from that program.
I said I had copy & pasted into the Other box when the character I was wanting wasn't available on the keyboard.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
 
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby nichollsvi » Tue May 04, 2021 11:02 pm

Well it doesn't work. Do we have a support system we can put it on?
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
nichollsvi
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby RusselB » Wed May 05, 2021 2:15 am

Realistically you're already there.
If you can upload/attach a sample of your source file, one of us might be able to figure out why it's not working.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
 
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby nichollsvi » Wed May 05, 2021 2:21 am

Its telephone data, so I can't publically list it, but I have an example. I can't find a way to upload a screenshot.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
nichollsvi
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby RusselB » Wed May 05, 2021 2:25 am

Screenshot would be useless.
When replying to this, use the PostReply button, not QuickReply.
On that screen there is a dialog that allows you to attach a file.
Please attach a copy of your example, not a screenshot.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
 
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby robleyd » Wed May 05, 2021 2:46 am

See Please don't attach documents containing confidential data for ways to anonymise your information.
Cheers
David
Apache OpenOffice 420m2(Build:9821) - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
LibreOffice 6.4.6.2 (SlackBuild for 6.4.6 by Eric Hameleers) - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 - Windows 7 Virtual machine
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 4120
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby Villeroy » Wed May 05, 2021 5:22 am

He takes the tab symbol as right arrow. I bet, the columns are tab separated.
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto vom 2021-05-05 05-20-27.png
Tab arrows in text import dialog
Bildschirmfoto vom 2021-05-05 05-20-27.png (7.88 KiB) Viewed 2203 times
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 30099
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: [Solved] Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby nichollsvi » Wed May 05, 2021 1:20 pm

Thank you - the tab solved the problem.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
nichollsvi
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Postby Bill » Wed May 05, 2021 7:34 pm

nichollsvi wrote:So you've taken a copy of it and put it in the actual other box? I can't get that to happen.


Works for me. I went to U+2192 RIGHTWARDS ARROW, clicked the "Copy to Clipboard" button, then right-clicked the Other box on the Text Import dialog and the rightwards arrow appeared in the box. However, in this case, the separator is not the rightwards arrow, but the more commonly used tab, which is represented by a similar non-printing arrow.
AOO 4.1.10 on Ubuntu MATE 21.04
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8331
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests