[Solved] Calc get value from txt

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API

[Solved] Calc get value from txt

Postby Nelomf » Fri Apr 16, 2021 12:14 pm

Hello

I've grab a code in this forum to get a striung value from txt file to a calc cell.
The code works well but its constantly fetching the value and i only need to get the value once when opening the calc book.
Could you hep me modifying this code please.

This is the code

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Dim iRun As Integer
iRun =1
While iRun =1
Dim iNumber As Integer
Dim delay As Integer 'delay between updates
Dim sLine As String
Dim aFile As String
Dim update As String
Dim oSheet : oSheet = ThisComponent.Sheets.getByIndex(1)
'Index 0 is Sheet1, Index 1 is Sheet2, etc.
Dim oCell : oCell = oSheet.getCellByPosition(1,0)
'Both row and column indexes start with 0: A1 is 0,0 - A2 is 1,0 - B1 is 0,1
Dim iCell : iCell = oSheet.getCellByPosition(0,1)
delay = 5000
iCell.setString(" ")
wait delay 'wait duration
aFile = "c:\encomendas\Bar.txt"
iNumber = Freefile
Open aFile For Input As iNumber
While not eof(iNumber)
Line Input #iNumber, sLine
If sLine <>"" then

end if
wend
Close #iNumber

oCell.setString(sLine)
rem iCell.setString("*Updating*")
rem wait delay ' Wait duration
Wend


Many Thanks
Last edited by Nelomf on Fri Apr 16, 2021 4:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Openoffice 4, Windows 7
Nelomf
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 4:29 pm

Re: Calc get value from txt

Postby cwolan » Fri Apr 16, 2021 3:00 pm

The code works well but its constantly fetching the value and i only need to get the value once when opening the calc book.

Then get rid of the outer loop.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
While iRun =1

Wend

Comment or remove those two lines.
You may also consider whether you do need others lines related to updating.
OpenOffice 4.1.11 and some older versions, LibreOffice 7.1.6.2
Windows 7, 10 64-bit
cwolan
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 3:44 pm

Re: Calc get value from txt

Postby Nelomf » Fri Apr 16, 2021 4:09 pm

Thank's

Yes i will get rid of the "updating", what i didn't know was the loop.

Manuel
Openoffice 4, Windows 7
Nelomf
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 4:29 pm


Return to Macros and UNO API

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests