Populate table using multiple forms

Creating and using forms

Populate table using multiple forms

Postby biarced » Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:31 am

I have this table which I am trying to populate using forms.
The first form is used to enter information for the first half of the table. The second form is used to enter the second half of the table. User enters information on form #1 and saves the information (using save button). User then clicks on a button labelled 'Form 2'. This opens Form #2 (for the current record they are entering information on). User then proceeds to enter rest of the information to populate second half of the table and saves (using another save button on form #2).
What is the basic structure of the forms I need to create to enable this very basic functionality? Does anyone have a prebuilt macro script to enable a button to launch the record in the second form to enable the user to continue working on? I am trying to circumvent Base's inability to provide tabs.

Moderator: I have removed any known cross postings. Please do not lock this post. I am up against the wall and really really need a solution.

LibreOffice Base ver 6.0.7.3
Linux Mint 19.2 Cinnamon
LibreOffice 6.0 on Linux 19.2 Cinnamon
biarced
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:51 pm

Re: Populate table using multiple forms

Postby robleyd » Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:00 am

Cross posting is fine providing you make it known that you are doing it and link to the other site(s) where you have posted. That way no one covers ground that has already been covered in another site.
Cheers
David
Apache OpenOffice 420m2(Build:9821) - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
LibreOffice 6.0.7.3 - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 - Windows 7 Virtual machine
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: Populate table using multiple forms

Postby Villeroy » Tue Oct 15, 2019 9:18 am

You can store the current record's primary key in a separate table and link the 2 entry forms to that value.

Search this forum for "power filtering".
Last edited by Villeroy on Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.4
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 28358
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Populate table using multiple forms

Postby Villeroy » Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:47 pm

Added some more buttons and a list box.
[Sync] syncronizes this form after the other has been changed by refreshing the main form.
[OK] refreshes the subform after the main form changed.
[Open] opens the other form.
[Close] closes this form.
The list box in the main form shows the availlable IDs.
Attachments
split_form.odb
another power filter
(64.58 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.4
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 28358
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany


Return to Forms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests