[Issue] Export web page with numbers as text in a column

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Issue] Export web page with numbers as text in a column

Postby sethron » Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:49 pm

Grettings.
I am using OO Calc version 2.4 on Windows XP. I am a web application developer. I want to be able to open an exported web page to Calc with a column of numbers that ought to be treated as text.
That is, the column has leading zeros on the left side. For Example 0003.
Using that other spreadsheet program, the workaround is to use a CSS value of mso-number-format:\@; and then use that class value with the TD tag.

REFERENCE: http://agoric.com/sources/software/htmltoExcel

The result of this is that the exported web page will convert the cell, or repeated row value as a text field with the leading zeros in the spreadsheet column.

I have searched in the FAQ and DEV areas of the OO wiki, but have not found the equivalent fix for the mso-number-format:\@; technique.

I thought I'd ask this community if you have any similar ways of converting a web page to the .xls format with the text format in tact.

-Seth
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: tagged the thread as issue.
sethron

Re: Export web page report with numbers as text in a column.

Postby acknak » Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:02 am

Holy smokes. This is just baffling to me.

If I format some spreadsheet cells as text, and save the file as HTML (Calc), a text cell is represented in the HTML output like so:

<TD HEIGHT=17 ALIGN=LEFT SDNUM="1033;0;@">00102</TD>

Now, that looked promising, as it appears to have all the necessary information.

On opening the HTML file however, the cell does indeed have a format of "Text" (or "@"), but Calc has removed the leading zeroes anyway. The text in the cell is "102".

Ack. Pthht.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
acknak

Postby sethron » Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:06 pm

Intriguing, isn't it? :!:
Thanks for looking into this.
-Seth
sethron