[Solved] Replace blank cells with their upper cell

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Solved] Replace blank cells with their upper cell

Postby oonk » Tue Dec 17, 2019 7:18 pm

I googled but could not find for LibreOffice Calc.
In the attached file, I'd like to fill up all blank cells (shown in red-colored font) using the same content of their upper cell.
This is the way that MS Excel does, https://youtu.be/Et3FGYpGXq0 .
How could we do like that in LibreOffice Calc ?
Attachments
9MACOx.ods
(23.91 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Screenshot_20191218_000322_r.jpg
Last edited by oonk on Wed Dec 18, 2019 5:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
| Fedora 31 Workstation Cinnamon of Fedora from Spins | LibreOffice 6.2.8.2-2 | Base with embedded Firebird |
oonk
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Pathum Thani, THAILAND

Re: Replace blank cells with their upper cell

Postby Lupp » Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:10 pm

Funny thing. What do you think should I do with that youtube thriller? I neither know Excel (which one?) nor do I understand the language.

Anyway. If I understood your explanations correctly, this is a case where I would consider to do the trick by user code. This if I actually needed the proceeding some hundred times a year. I doubt if that can be the case for anybody. Well, a youtuber thaught it can.

After all it was something to play with. See attached.

(An unsolicited advice: Don't use many colors, and no strong olors at all. Just distraction, imo.)
Attachments
aoo100434FillDownWhileBlank_1.ods
(21.96 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
On Windows 10: LibreOffice 6.2 and older versions, PortableOpenOffice 4.1.5 and older, StarOffice 5.2
---
Lupp from München
User avatar
Lupp
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: München, Germany

Re: Replace blank cells with their upper cell

Postby Villeroy » Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:22 pm

Use macro "FillBlanks_Down in https://sourceforge.net/projects/ooomac ... on%201.01/
Listen to what MrProgrammer says.
Last edited by Villeroy on Tue Dec 17, 2019 10:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.4
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 27753
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Replace blank cells with their upper cell

Postby MrProgrammer » Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:44 pm

oonk wrote:I'd like to fill up all blank cells (shown in red-colored font) using the same content of their upper cell.
Without installing a macro:
Select A3:F14; Edit → Copy; With A3:F14 selected, type formula =A2 into A3 hold the ALT key and press Enter; Edit → Paste Special → Paste all → Skip empty cells → OK

If this solved your problem please go to your first post use the Edit button and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can select the green checkmark icon at the same time.

[Tutorial] Ten concepts that every Calc user should know
Mr. Programmer
AOO 4.1.7 Build 9800 on MacOS 10.14.6.   The locale for any menus or Calc formulas in my posts is English (USA).
User avatar
MrProgrammer
Moderator
 
Posts: 3953
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Replace blank cells with their upper cell

Postby oonk » Wed Dec 18, 2019 5:09 am

MrProgrammer wrote:Without installing a macro:
Select A3:F14;
Edit → Copy;
With A3:F14 selected,
type formula =A2 into A3
hold the ALT key and press Enter;
Edit → Paste Special → Paste all → Skip empty cells → OK


Thank you so much for your support and your concern.
| Fedora 31 Workstation Cinnamon of Fedora from Spins | LibreOffice 6.2.8.2-2 | Base with embedded Firebird |
oonk
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Pathum Thani, THAILAND


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests