Problem using function CELL()

Discuss the spreadsheet application

Problem using function CELL()

Postby benalian » Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:41 pm

Hello,
I'm trying to achieve the use of CELL, currently using OO in portuguese the function is translated to CÉLULA, or CÉL second the F1 help.
Thing is, when i simply copy paste "=CÉL("COL";D2)" in the cell, as the example in the documentation help, the result will only be the error #!NAME, or 525.
what am i missing?
Thanks in advance.

PS i may need to transfer this thread to the excel sub forum. pardon.
OpenOffice 4.1.6
AOO416m1(Build:9790) - Rev. 1844436
2018-10-23 12:57
Windows 10 LTSB
benalian
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:36 pm

Re: Problem using function CELL()

Postby FJCC » Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:49 pm

Does the formula in the attached file work for you?
Attachments
CellFunc.ods
(7.79 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Windows 10 and Linux Mint, since 2017
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
FJCC
Moderator
 
Posts: 7487
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Problem using function CELL()

Postby Zizi64 » Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:57 pm

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
=CÉL("COL";D2)

This formula works for me in my in my portable LO 6.3.3. with European Portugese language settings and with Brasilian Portugese settings.. The formula was entered in English language:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
=CELL("COL";D2)

and the LO translated it automatically after changing the language of the User interface.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.0; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8771
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Problem using function CELL()

Postby benalian » Wed Nov 20, 2019 7:00 pm

FJCC wrote:Does the formula in the attached file work for you?

it worked! but there is a strange behavior, if copy and paste your cell formula, it continues to work, but if i edit a bit of it, like changing the number of the line or the "info_type" it makes the function name from "Célula" to "célula" and the error of unknow identifier(525) returns. I really dont know what can be modifying the name, if the upper C is required as identifier.
OpenOffice 4.1.6
AOO416m1(Build:9790) - Rev. 1844436
2018-10-23 12:57
Windows 10 LTSB
benalian
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:36 pm

Re: Problem using function CELL()

Postby Zizi64 » Wed Nov 20, 2019 8:33 pm

Please upload your ODF type sample file here.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.0; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8771
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Problem using function CELL()

Postby benalian » Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:22 pm

here is, the cell's where is a error are cells that i copied and paste or used the style brush, but then edited by me.
Attachments
CellFunc.ods
(8.52 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
OpenOffice 4.1.6
AOO416m1(Build:9790) - Rev. 1844436
2018-10-23 12:57
Windows 10 LTSB
benalian
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:36 pm

Re: Problem using function CELL()

Postby MrProgrammer » Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:36 pm

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

benalian wrote:it worked! but there is a strange behavior, if copy and paste your cell formula, it continues to work, but if i edit a bit of it, like changing the number of the line or the "info_type" it makes the function name from "Célula" to "célula" and the error of unknow identifier(525) returns.
Try using the Insert → Function dialog for editing. This feature is found in the Insert menu but when the active cell already contains a formula it edits instead of inserts. I can't reproduce your problem because my installation does not include the Portuguese user interface.

Your attachment shows you are using only the "COL" and "ROW" parameters for the CELL() function. Perhaps you will have less difficulty if you use the COLUMN() and ROW() functions instead of CELL(). I believe those are translated as COLUNA() and LINHA() for locale Portuguese (Brazil) or as COL() and LIN() for locale Portuguese (Portugal).

If this solved your problem please go to your first post use the Edit button and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can select the green checkmark icon at the same time.
Mr. Programmer
AOO 4.1.7 Build 9800 on MacOS 10.14.6.   The locale for any menus or Calc formulas in my posts is English (USA).
User avatar
MrProgrammer
Moderator
 
Posts: 3952
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests