[Solved] odt file opens only in ASCII format

Discuss the word processor

[Solved] odt file opens only in ASCII format

Postby ladyPink » Mon Aug 31, 2020 12:18 pm

hi guys I'm new to the forum.
I have been using Open Office for many years and have never had any problems.
Unfortunately I was working on an odt file (many pages), and due to a power surge now it only opens it in ascii format with incomprehensible symbols. The file still weighs 600kb as it was before.
I've already tried to zip it, nothing.
The bakup was unfortunately disabled by default.
Is there any way I can recover my text?
I hope it's possible, does some guru have extrahuman powers?
thank you
lady
:oops: ;)
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Mon Aug 31, 2020 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged solved
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on windows 8.1
ladyPink

Re: odt file opens only in ascii format

Postby robleyd » Mon Aug 31, 2020 12:27 pm

Presumably the incomprehensible symbols are all # characters? That being the case, from experience, your file is completely corrupted.

See [Tutorial] How to find and un-delete AOO temporary files for detailed instructions on how to

a) use Previous Versions (W7 and later) to recover previous versions of the file;

b) recover your file as it was when you last opened or saved it, or as it was when it was last saved with AutoRecovery;

c) find previous versions of the file in the folder it is located in, but which have since been deleted;

d) find any temporary files AOO wrote while you were editing the file but which have not yet been deleted;

e) un-delete the temporary files AOO wrote while you were editing the file, and then deleted. d) and e) will recover your file as it was when you last opened or you last saved it.

If you cannot follow the instructions ask someone with more PC skills to help you. Act quickly - the longer you wait the more likely any temporary files are to be deleted.
Last edited by robleyd on Mon Aug 31, 2020 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.