[Solved] Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Discuss the word processor

[Solved] Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby david613 » Thu Dec 19, 2019 3:42 pm

Hello!

When writing a document which includes several languages, it might be useful to have the "Set language" option sticking to the one language we choose instead of having that option changing by itself.

Is that possible?

Thank you for your help! :D
Last edited by david613 on Mon Dec 23, 2019 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 4.1.1. on Windows 7
david613
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:25 am

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby Villeroy » Thu Dec 19, 2019 4:08 pm

Use paragraph styles, character styles and templates.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.4
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 27713
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby Bill » Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:25 pm

david613 wrote:When writing a document which includes several languages, it might be useful to have the "Set language" option sticking to the one language we choose instead of having that option changing by itself.

Does the "set language" option mean the language shown on the Status bar or the language shown when you select Tools > Language? Those provide useful information by displaying the current language setting for the selected text. They are not there just as "set language" tools.
AOO 4.1.7 and LO 6.3.2.2 on Manjaro KDE
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7573
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby david613 » Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:27 pm

I'm talking about the language shown on the Status bar.

Even if selected on a specific language when I start working, it keeps changing to other languages.
OpenOffice 4.1.1. on Windows 7
david613
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:25 am

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby RoryOF » Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:47 pm

The languages should be defined in the Paragraph and Character styles appropriate to the languages in which you are writing.

If you are doing much writing in different languages, you should have similar sets of Styles for these and should switch to the appropriate style for each language. Such styles will possibly differ only in their languages (set on the Fonts tab of those styles).
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.4 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 30380
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby david613 » Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:56 pm

I have difficulties to find the path you refer to.

Could you tell me from the menu, which path I should follow?

Thank you!
OpenOffice 4.1.1. on Windows 7
david613
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:25 am

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby Bill » Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:58 pm

In Windows, OpenOffice will change the language setting to match the input language setting in Windows. Have you set the input language in Windows to the correct language?

How to change the input language in OpenOffice Writer on W7
AOO 4.1.7 and LO 6.3.2.2 on Manjaro KDE
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7573
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby RoryOF » Thu Dec 19, 2019 6:02 pm

david613 wrote:I have difficulties to find the path you refer to.

Could you tell me from the menu, which path I should follow?

Thank you!


Styles are best defined using /Format /Styles and Formatting.

A useful overview on using Writer is in
Writer for students (several languages)
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.4 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 30380
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby Bill » Thu Dec 19, 2019 6:12 pm

If the problem is being caused by the input language, another option is to switch to LibreOffice and enable the option to "Ignore system input language". This option is not available in OpenOffice.
AOO 4.1.7 and LO 6.3.2.2 on Manjaro KDE
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7573
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby RoryOF » Thu Dec 19, 2019 6:28 pm

In OpenOffice, language can be set to "none", which means it will not be spellchecked.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.4 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 30380
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Setting the "Set Language" option once for all

Postby david613 » Mon Dec 23, 2019 2:40 pm

Thank you for your help! :D
OpenOffice 4.1.1. on Windows 7
david613
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:25 am


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests