Page 1 of 1

Copied table from one odb file to another, tables linked

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:40 am
by cwdavi1
I'm developing some base applications. I have a stable odb file and a separate development odb file. When I finish a new table or query I copy it from the development file into the stable one. I've found that the tables in different odb files are linked. i.e. if I change data in one table the change shows up in the other. When I crash on the development odb file and lose a table I lose it in both.

When I copy a table I follow the documented procedure. I suspect that renaming the pasted table will not make any difference. How do I prevent this behavior? When I'm finished I'm going to a split database of course but for now I need to be able to make changes that I couldn't do in a split database.

I'm using a dev version of lo, Version: 6.3.2.0.0+ (x64)
Build ID: de3933d0a5d37ea215dd16abd4aef0dd25b6c315, on win 10 pro.

Thank you.

Re: copied table from one odb file to another, tables linked

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:24 am
by UnklDonald418
I've only seen that occur when the .odb file was copied onto the same logical drive in Windows.
If you copy the .obd file to another logical drive or maybe a USB thumb drive they shouldn't be linked.
Or create a new .odb file and copy the tables one by one to that that file.
Or better yet create a JDBC (Split) database. You can copy Tables, Queries, Forms and Reports back and forth between a split database and an Embedded one and they can't possibly be linked.

Re: copied table from one odb file to another, tables linked

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:45 pm
by cwdavi1
Thank you. I have a split database but didn't realize that I could copy a table or query out, work on it, then replace it. That's what I'll do. I won't mark this as solved though, this was unexpected behavior and cost me a lot of time..

Re: Copied table from one odb file to another, tables linked

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:16 pm
by UnklDonald418
Be aware that is Windows not Base that creates the link when you copy a file with the same name on the same logical drive.
Another way to keep Windows from creating the link is to save it with a different name.