Entering records

Creating and using forms

Entering records

Postby doggod42 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:11 am

Please redirect me if this is the wrong place to ask this. I'm obviously a newbie completely at sea.
I created a table in design view, naming all the fields and giving them properties, and I saved it.
But how do I go about entering data into these fields now?
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows 10
doggod42
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Entering records

Postby Villeroy » Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:06 pm

Add another field of integer type and set property "AutoValue". This will serve as a primary key, kind of unique row number. Base needs a primary key to distinguish a row from all the other rows and make it editable.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 27566
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Entering records

Postby doggod42 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:52 pm

Actually, the system did this automatically when I clicked Save. Still no clue as to how to start adding records to make an actual database.
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows 10
doggod42
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Entering records

Postby UnklDonald418 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 7:26 pm

Right click on your table name and select Edit to open the table in the Edit mode.
Select the ID field the system added and look near the bottom of the window at the Auto Value property. Make sure it is set to Yes. Close the table and if prompted Save the changes.
Double clicking on the table name will open the table allowing you to type data into your fields. The ID field will automatically fill in a value when you complete a line of data and move to the next line. There are limitations to direct data entry that can be overcome by creating a Form. Forms have more flexibility and offer controls that aren't available in the direct data entry mode.
There is a Wizard to Create Form that allows you to design simple forms which is a good starting place.
I normally start with the Wizard and then for more complex forms I edit that form.
If your problem has been solved, please edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the beginning of the subject line
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 & LibreOffice 6.1.5.2 - Windows 10 Professional
UnklDonald418
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1278
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:56 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Entering records

Postby doggod42 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:06 pm

Thank you so much! All that worked.
Now I seem to have encountered another problem, however: when I enter a record, I get an alert box telling me "Out of Memory", which makes no sense at all since the Windows (10) resource monitor is telling me I'm only using 69% of memory. Any ideas about this?
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows 10
doggod42
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Entering records

Postby UnklDonald418 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 11:35 pm

That is a Windows issue/message. According to your signature you are using Windows XP, so look at
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/126962/out-of-memory-error-message-appears-when-you-have-a-large-number-of-pr
If your problem has been solved, please edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the beginning of the subject line
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 & LibreOffice 6.1.5.2 - Windows 10 Professional
UnklDonald418
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1278
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:56 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Entering records

Postby doggod42 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:29 am

I don't know about my signature, but I haven't run XP for a couple of years. Running Win10. Should I post this in a different forum?
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows 10
doggod42
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Entering records

Postby robleyd » Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:49 am

Perhaps you could consider updating your signature to your current software; this will enable us to better provide information..

The message is from Windows however. Try this web search which returns a number of results that may help.
Cheers
David
Apache OpenOffice 420m2(Build:9821) - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
LibreOffice 6.0.7.3 - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 - Windows 7 Virtual machine
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 3093
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: Entering records

Postby doggod42 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 2:08 am

Thanks for all the help, and I think the signature thing is fixed now. But the Out of Memory thing persists even after following the regedit routine recommended. Dunno.
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows 10
doggod42
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:38 pm


Return to Forms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests