[Solved] JRE: What is this prompt to go to Tools>Options

Issues installing under the Mac OSX - X11 - Aqua

[Solved] JRE: What is this prompt to go to Tools>Options

Postby nunof32 » Mon Dec 28, 2020 9:34 am

Hello,

Sometimes, frequently when I access Help>Find but on other occasions too, a dialog appears warning me of a change in the configuration of OpenOffice and prompting me to go to TOOLS>OPTIONS>OFFICE>JAVA and select the right JRE.

In my installation the TOOLS Menu does not have the OPTIONS command. So even I understood and desired to do what I am prompted for I can't.

Also, when this dialog appears OpenOffice is stuck and I have to Force Quit it to go back to my work.

Would someone please help me discover what went wrong when I updated from 4.1.7 to 4.1.8 ? Why do I not have an OPTIONS command under TOOLS ? Why do I have to select a JRE ?

Thanks very much in advance.
Last edited by nunof32 on Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 4.1.10 with MacOS X 10.13.6
nunof32
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:52 am

Re: JRE - MAC - What is this prompt to go to TOOLS OPTIONS .

Postby robleyd » Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:09 am

On a Mac, the equivalent is OpenOffice | Preferences. For more information on OpenOffice and Java, see Troubleshooting Open/LibreOffice and Java

You may also find Tutorial: Mac FAQ a useful resource, especially Q00/A00 and Q06/A06 in this case.
Cheers
David
Apache OpenOffice 420m2(Build:9821) - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
LibreOffice 6.4.6.2 (SlackBuild for 6.4.6 by Eric Hameleers) - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 - Windows 7 Virtual machine
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 4113
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: JRE: What is this prompt to go to Tools>Options

Postby nunof32 » Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:42 pm

Problem solved, many thanks.
OpenOffice 4.1.10 with MacOS X 10.13.6
nunof32
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:52 am


Return to Mac OSX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests