Page 1 of 1

[Solved] upgrading AOO-4.0 to AOO-4.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:33 am
by jaxjoe
Gents:

My first post ... running Ubuntu 12.04 on a XEON_1240/MSI-gd55 system.

Several months ago I installed AOO-4.0 using this tutorial: viewtopic.php?t=50119

The instructions are very clear and explicit; installation proceeded without issue. Now I read that a revised AOO is out; Synaptic Package Manager of-course knows nothing ... At the AOO download page I see no **UPDATE** button ... nor any detailed installation instructions. Will someone point to an equivalent tutorial for **upgrading** AOO-4.0 to AOO-4.0.1 under Ubuntu .

Thanks for any assistance.

jaxjoe

Re: upgrading AOO-4.0 to AOO-4.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:47 am
by RoryOF
Just download and install, as you did for 4.0.0

Re: upgrading AOO-4.0 to AOO-4.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 3:29 pm
by jaxjoe
But ... but ... what happens to the **current** AOO_4.0.0 installation ? And current documents ? Is everything old just **over-written** or do the two versions live side-by-side ?? (I think noone wants THAT!) You can see I am **very uncomfortable** and confused with the lack of some auto-upgrade process for AOO, a std. process which for me goes back a decade to RedHat-6 !!

Re: upgrading AOO-4.0 to AOO-4.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:01 pm
by Hagar Delest
Just follow the same steps exactly.
dpkg will see that there is a former version and replace it.

Please add [Solved] at the beginning of the title in your first post (top of the topic) with the edit button if your issue has been fixed.

Re: upgrading AOO-4.0 to AOO-4.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:39 am
by jaxjoe
Same steps installing AOO-4.0.1 as AOO-4.0. Got it! Thank you very much.

Re: upgrading AOO-4.0 to AOO-4.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:49 pm
by jaxjoe
HD:

Somewhat shockingly ... given that install syntax includes a 37-char filename ... my upgrade to AOO_4.0.1 seems to have worked **the 1st time**. Rigidly follow the install script no matter what "jabberwok" it seems:

viewtopic.php?t=50119

Many thanks to HagarD.

Re: upgrading AOO-4.0 to AOO-4.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:53 pm
by jaxjoe
BTW:

I have **no idea** how to mark the problem //SOLVED//. May we request a **solved** button?

Re: upgrading AOO-4.0 to AOO-4.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 8:38 pm
by RoryOF
Edit your first post in the thread, add [Solved] and check the green tick, I've done it for you.