Saving forms as documents in database

Discuss the database features

Saving forms as documents in database

Postby deki » Thu Oct 31, 2019 7:26 pm

Hello everyone, I'm new to working with bases and sorry about my English.
I have created some fillable forms and tables from where the data is filled by users. Is it possible to save filled forms as documents within the database itself? Is it possible to use Base as a simple document management program?
OpenOffice 4.1 on Windows 7
deki

Re: Saving forms as documents in database

Postby UnklDonald418 » Sat Nov 02, 2019 7:35 pm

It isn't entirely clear what you are asking.
If the forms you are referring to are Base forms, then there is no reason to store individual form documents because they can be regenerated as needed, based on data saved in the database tables.
If the forms you are referring to are external documents then you could design a database that would allow you to track various attributes of those documents such as file location, author, creation date, subject matter, etc. However, you would need to enter all that data, Base will not parse the documents and extract that data automatically.
To see some simple working databases, at the top of this forum page select Base Tutorials and on that page select Database Examples.

Here is a tutorial on database design
https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/images/0/02/Base_tutorial.pdf
If your problem has been solved, please edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the beginning of the subject line
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 & LibreOffice 6.1.5.2 - Windows 10 Professional
UnklDonald418
Volunteer

Postby deki » Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:26 am

Thank you for answer.