[Issue] Change all Greek letters at the same time

Discuss the formula editor

[Issue] Change all Greek letters at the same time

Postby hofmartin » Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:35 pm

Hi there,

i am new to the Math editor of OO, and so far I am pretty excited. I am currently writing my bachelor thesis in renewable energy systems and therefore I will have to write a lot of formula containing greek symbols. In my writer document I am using the Gentium font, which in my opinion looks quite neat, is easy and comfortable to read and provides a vast amount of characters (since it really does not lack any character of any language it is called "font for the nations". And it is free.)

It is because of that I want to change my greek symbols and math symbols from Times New Roman to Gentium. So far, I have only found that I can change them one by one, which gets a bit boring after the fifth one ,-)

Is there a posibility to change them all, as to say: For all greek letters, please use the Gentium font, basic greek section? As this works for the latin variables, probably there's a work-around provided for their greek brothers...

With loads of thanks beforehand,
Martin
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Mon Jun 09, 2008 6:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: tagged the thread as issue.
OOo 2.3.X on Ms Windows XP + ubuntu 8.04
hofmartin

Re: Change all greek letters at the same time

Postby acknak » Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:51 am

I want to change my greek symbols and math symbols from Times New Roman to Gentium. So far, I have only found that I can change them one by one, ...

How are you changing them "one by one"?

As far as I know, using the "%alpha" codes for symbols, or special symbols like the sigma in "sum from 1 to n" are treated specially by OOo Math and there's no way to change the font that's used.