How to set defaults

Discuss the drawing application

How to set defaults

Postby gasman » Wed Jan 06, 2016 6:06 am

New Member: gasman (windows 8.1)
Trying to start up OO 4.1.2 Draw: Straight and via Templates, same result.
Cannot save and store to the next session "line colour" or font & size.
It is annoying to have to reset these fundamentals each time one is opening the program!
There is no feeling of a standard program when "installing" has to be done at each start!
Helping solving this makes it possible to stay on...
grateful
Max
OPEN OFFICE 4.1.2
Windows 8.1
gasman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 5:25 pm

Re: How to set defaults

Postby acknak » Wed Jan 06, 2016 3:45 pm

Greetings and welcome to the community forum!

The expected way to manage this is to modify the graphic style named "Default" and save the document as a template. Then use File > Templates > Organize ... to set the default template to the modified document. When OO Draw starts, it loads the new template and gets the modified style settings from the new template.

It sounds like more work than it actually is.

Personally, I just copy/paste stuff with the settings I want from existing document. For my work, there is no set of defaults that I use consistently.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: How to set defaults

Postby gasman » Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:07 pm

Thank you Acknak!
I will try to establish a working Template for drawings, hoping the settings will at last stay stick this time around, and not vanish each time i close the program...
Max
OPEN OFFICE 4.1.2
Windows 8.1
gasman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 5:25 pm

Re: How to set defaults

Postby acknak » Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:53 am

There are more details in this tutorial:
https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/v ... =71&t=1161

The tutorial is for OO Writer but the same procedure applies to all OO applications.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: How to set defaults

Postby gasman » Thu Jan 07, 2016 7:39 am

Thank you Acknak!
7.1.2016 did yield nothing, almost; only the "horizontal" setting survived closing and opening...
I will still try your latest. Thank you!
Max
OPEN OFFICE 4.1.2
Windows 8.1
gasman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 5:25 pm


Return to Draw

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests