[Solved] Language on status bar

Help with installation and general system troubleshooting questions concerning the office suite LibreOffice.

[Solved] Language on status bar

Postby Grytpype » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:59 pm

Can the language setting be changed from the status bar or some similarly convenient place? I've just had LibreOffice upgraded to 6.2.0.3 and it's no longer on the status bar. I can't find anything in Options that turns it on, or in Customise that gives it to me as a toolbar button. (And the tutorials on spelling checking and language choice don't seem to mention this point.) I don't want anything complex, just selecting the whole document and switching between UK and US English. Thanks.

Edit: Of course I can get to it through the menus, but that's repeated clicks away, or I can write a macro, but that's also time-consuming.
Last edited by Grytpype on Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:04 pm, edited 3 times in total.
LibreOffice 6.2.0.3 on Windows 10 Pro, as of March 2019: just upgraded from 4.1.6.2
Grytpype
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:26 pm
Location: London

Re: Language on status bar

Postby jrkrideau » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:15 pm

I am using LO but I think so but it looks to me to be something Direct Formatting and may not be as using styles. However I have Russian and English in one sentence this way Да, Я энию. It was easyе and LO flags both mistakes. Still, I recommend Styles.
LibreOffice 6.4.3.2; Ubuntu 20.04
jrkrideau
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3788
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Kingston Ontario Canada

Re: Language on status bar

Postby RoryOF » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:26 pm

I agree with jkrideau: dedicated paragraph or character styles for your differing languages are the best way. At present, only the text selected can be changed from one language to the other by using the status bar.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 20.04.1 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 31543
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Language on status bar

Postby Bill » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:38 pm

Grytpype wrote:Can the language setting be changed from the status bar or some similarly convenient place? I've just had LibreOffice upgraded to 6.2.0.3 and it's no longer on the status bar.

It's still on the Status Bar in LO 6.2.0.3 on Manjaro. Is View > Status Bar turned on?
AOO 4.1.7 on Manjaro Cinnamon
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7918
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Language on status bar

Postby Grytpype » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:49 pm

I've clicked and right-clicked and hovered on everything on my status bar. It has:

Page m of n | mm characters, nn words | Default Style | blank space whose tooltip says Insert mode | icon for extending selection | disc icon for modified/saved | blank space for Document Signature | blank space with no tooltip or effects | icons for Multi-page view |resizing slider

(And yes I've just checked I copied 6.2.0.3 correctly.)
LibreOffice 6.2.0.3 on Windows 10 Pro, as of March 2019: just upgraded from 4.1.6.2
Grytpype
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:26 pm
Location: London

Re: Language on status bar

Postby Bill » Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:31 pm

It looks like the language selection might be buggy in LO 6.2.0.3. I right-clicked the Language setting in the Status Bar and selected "More" to open the Character dialog. When I clicked the Language box on the dialog, a list opened that extended from the top of the monitor screen to the bottom, displaying the first 30 or so languages in the list. Unfortunately the list had no scrollbar making it impossible to choose any of the languages outside the first 30 or so.

LO 6.2.0.3 is the version for early adopters and is lilkely to have bugs.
AOO 4.1.7 on Manjaro Cinnamon
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7918
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Language on status bar

Postby Bill » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:14 pm

Uninstalling LO 6.2.0.3 and installing LO 6.1.5.2 on Manjaro fixed my problem with the language selection list. The list that appears in LO 6.1.5.2 is the normal small list with a scrollbar, not a full height list without a scrollbar. LO 6.1.5.2 is the version that has had more testing and is recommended for production environments.
AOO 4.1.7 on Manjaro Cinnamon
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7918
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Language on status bar

Postby r2openeimer » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:53 pm

I didn't have such problem when I worked with LO 6.1.5.2. I always back up the version in these cases. Sometimes it feels that there's no solution to simple problems. Go back to the version it worked for you because you'll lose less time than trying to figure out what to do. Even if it's so simple the status, I guess the problem with status bar and similar peripheral elements are often bugged in 0.3 versions, as it has been said. Cheers!
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows Vista
r2openeimer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:05 pm

Re: Language on status bar

Postby Grytpype » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:04 pm

Okay, write that down to buggy version. Thank you for your help.

Unfortunately download and install is not one of my powers, and the IT person who did it yesterday is going quietly mad working his way round the office trying to fix the problems from 'upgrading' to Office 365. He must have thought I was mad when I said I wanted Libre/Open back, not the latest version of Word, but I need Writer for the proof-reading. I can switch the default for a few weeks rather than bug him right away for another download. This isn't really [Solved] then, but there's nothing more that can be done.
LibreOffice 6.2.0.3 on Windows 10 Pro, as of March 2019: just upgraded from 4.1.6.2
Grytpype
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:26 pm
Location: London


Return to LibreOffice

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests