[Solved] Need Help with Backgrounds

Discuss the presentation application

[Solved] Need Help with Backgrounds

Postby rabbithutch » Tue Jan 19, 2016 12:14 am

My second question here; so be advised that I'm a noob trying to learn a new tool.

I want to make a simple avatar. It consists of 2 text areas and a picture area. When I'm done, I want the entire image to appear without any white (or other color) background. I've tried this in both Impress and Draw, but I'm in way over my head at this point on my learning curve.

In Impress, I first opened a blank slide (not formatted areas) then clicked on the Text tool. I typed in the "H" then used the font control tools to increase its size to 300 and choose the font. I then used drag and drop to position it on the slide near the center. Next I clicked the Text tool and typed "Bob". Again I chose font and size (26) and moved the text between the uprights on the large H. Finally, I clicked on Insert>Picture>From File and chose the image file and pressed Enter. Every time I tried to enter the picture on the original page, the image tiled across an area that I had not selected nor defined. Yesterday I asked about the tiling and got good advice from acknak to use a separate slide to put the image on then copy and paste it from the second slide to the first slide. That worked; however the result is that the background of the image is not clear but white. When I create the image, this is what I see . . . (Note, I used a green background fill on the slide so that I could distinguish objects on the slide. I can remove that easily.):

18-01-$7RHH Desktop.png
18-01-$7RHH Desktop.png (11.19 KiB) Viewed 1480 times