[Solved+Issue] Bullets quit working!!!

Discuss the presentation application

[Solved+Issue] Bullets quit working!!!

Postby JimA » Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:43 am

Background: I am a software developer, I am certified in all of Microsoft Office, Oracle, etc., and I have used Open Office for many years. I periodically have a strange problem and it is occurring now, please help.

I create a new presentation in Impress, and enter slides, no problems. My slides are very simple with no graphics and only one level of ident. For no apparent reason the bullets "just quit working". By this I mean the Bullets On/Off button will no longer toggle the bullet style, and manually forcing bullets by selecting Formats/Bullets and Numbering=>Select a bullet style does create the bullets style for that line, but the spacing between the bullet and the beginning of text is wrong. Once this problem occurs the entire presentation becomes useless because the same problem then occurs on any slide that is modified. I am saving in ODP filetype.

I attached a file in which I deleted all the slides except one. On the one page, try and cause the first line of text to be bulleted... it is not happening.

Thanks for any help!
Attachments
test.odp
(14.71 KiB) Downloaded 262 times
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:05 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Tagged the thread as issue (link to a bug report).
OpenOffice 3.2 on Windows Vista
JimA

Re: Bullets quit working!!!

Postby acknak » Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:47 am

Somehow, you have actually configured the top outline level not to show any bullet.

Here's one way to fix it:

1) View > Master > Slide Master
2) Click in the top level of the sample outline
3) Format > Bullets & Numbering
___Customize tab: select level one
___Bullets tab: select a bullet
___Position tab: select level one; set "Width of numbering" to some non-zero value
___OK