Page 1 of 1

[Issue] Calc charts distorted during slide show

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:46 am
by dim3wit
EDIT: Bug report: http://qa.openoffice.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=111012


Feel free to make any corrections.


Original post:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I gave a presentation using OpenOfficeorg Impress 3.1.1 the other day, and was disappointed when it failed to display my graph labels correctly. The bars of the graph showed fine, the standard deviations were maintained, and the axis scales were displayed properly, but the axis labels were stretched vertically.

Here's the slide as shown in the "normal" slide editing mode:

http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/1464/screenshot20100419at646.png
screenshot20100419at646.png

And here it is when I start the slide show mode:
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/1464/screenshot20100419at646.png
screenshot20100419at646 2.png

Any idea what I can do in the future to prevent this from happening? It's not good for my grades or for OOo's reputation.

Thanks,

--Dim3wit

Slide in question: http://www.mediafire.com/?njozzlnmjym

Re: Graphs from Calc not displaying correctly during slide s

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 4:33 am
by acknak
Can you attach the slide with the chart?

Unless you need to update the chart/data often, you can paste (special) the chart as a "GDI Metafile", or (with a little effort) convert the chart to an image--Impress is fairly dependable at displaying images ;-)

Re: Graphs from Calc not displaying correctly during slide s

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 4:54 am
by dim3wit
Alright, here's the slide: http://www.mediafire.com/?njozzlnmjym

For the time being, I suppose the GDI option should work.

Re: Graphs from Calc not displaying correctly during slide s

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:14 am
by acknak
I see the same thing, even creating a chart from scratch.

Looks like a clear bug--can you report it? [Tutorial] Reporting bugs or suggestions

Re: Graphs from Calc not displaying correctly during slide s

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 2:52 pm
by dim3wit

Re: Graphs from Calc not displaying correctly during slide s

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 3:24 pm
by Cambirder
I cant replicate the problem on Windows in 3.2, but a work round for you would be to past the graphs into Impress as GDI metafiles.

Re: Graphs from Calc not displaying correctly during slide s

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 3:25 pm
by acknak
Nice work!

Thanks for the link.