[Solved] Locking items in Impress

Discuss the presentation application

[Solved] Locking items in Impress

Postby AP777 » Sun Aug 23, 2020 12:16 pm

I'm hoping to 'lock' items in Impress.
I'd like each slide to have locked blocks of text or colour, so I can easily go and add other layers on each slide without accidentally picking up the blocks I don't want moved.

Any ideas?
I'm using Apache Office 4.1.6

Thank you!
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6
Macbook Air MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6
AP777
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2020 9:34 am

Re: Locking items in Impress

Postby RoryOF » Sun Aug 23, 2020 1:02 pm

The immediate answer is that there are no layers in Impress, although they exist in Draw.

Other Forum users may suggest a suitable workaround.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.10 on Xubuntu 20.04.2 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 32525
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Locking items in Impress

Postby Zizi64 » Sun Aug 23, 2020 4:26 pm

You can protect the Position and Size of the shape object in the Impress application. Write a macro for this task if you want modify more than one object by one click.

And you can use the Styles to format the shapes instead of the direct (manual) formatting method. Then you will able restore the desired properties easily - if you changed them accidentally.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.4.7 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-7.1.1;AOO4.1.9
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9840
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Locking items in Impress

Postby AP777 » Mon Aug 24, 2020 1:53 pm

Thank you for these replies! You've both helped me a lot, I appreciate it.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6
Macbook Air MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6
AP777
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2020 9:34 am

Re: Locking items in Impress

Postby RoryOF » Mon Aug 24, 2020 2:01 pm

You could (possibly) put your standard items on a drawing, export as a bitmap, then place it as a background fill.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.10 on Xubuntu 20.04.2 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 32525
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Locking items in Impress

Postby AP777 » Mon Aug 24, 2020 2:28 pm

Finally got it, thank you!
 Edit: New question split to Change the drawing page to landscape
Please review our forum policy: One issue, one thread. I have split your posts for you. But you should not put unrelated questions in one topic. Questions are not related simply because they come from you. 
 Edit: Tagged ✓ [Solved]. New question split to Text box is created but it disappears 
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6
Macbook Air MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6
AP777
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2020 9:34 am


Return to Impress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests