[Dropped] OpenOffice accessing files/documents

Issues with installing under all versions of MS Windows
loanmaker

[Dropped] OpenOffice accessing files/documents

Post by loanmaker »

Hi. I am an author and not very computer literate though I have used Open Office for a number of years for by book writing.

i have clearly given a command which has made accessing saved files and folders impossible and I am extremely annoyed because I can't seem to rectify the problem.

When I used to open a document I simply click on it and it opened. Now, when I click on a saved document I get a grey box titled C:\Users\Jackc\OneDrive\Documents\Oldstuff and within this box are all my files. If I click on one of these files I get another grey box titled C:\Users\Jackc\OneDrive\Documents.......and the name of the file clicked and within this box are a whole host of options of programs to open the file from BMP to XPM and regardless of which I select, the file will not open.

Is there a way to bypass this C:\Users etc and go back to simply opening a saved file?

Any help or guidance will be appreciated - this is five years work locked in this .

Jack
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Mon Mar 20, 2023 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Dropped: No attachment provided when requested -- MrProgrammer, forum moderator
Open Office 4.14
Windows 10
LastUnicorn

Re: Open Office accessing files/documents

Post by LastUnicorn »

Sounds like a Windows 10 'Open With' problem. Don't be so quick to assume that you must have given a command to cause this problem. I have occasionally had this kind of problem myself, usually after Microsoft has updated the system in some way.

To try and find a cure try this Tutorial: How to Choose Default Apps to Open Files with in Windows 10 Read the tutorial all the way through before trying to apply any of the solutions mentioned.