[Solved] How to sort and filter a table ?

Discuss the spreadsheet application
doublehp

[Solved] How to sort and filter a table ?

Post by doublehp »

In short, I want to create a "stock table".

For example, I will have about 100 products. Each product has a name, reference, and price (in practice, there will be a dozen of criteria). I want to be able to:
- sort the whole sheet according to each criteria
- filter the table with keywords by each criteria

So, in each column, there will be: the Label, a button, and a text box.

Some how, a bit like Thunderbird for emails.

This is my first time in OOCalc. Up to now, I have crated a new sheet (year, I am good \o/ ) put my labels in the first line/row, created a few buttons, text boxes and put some values around.

When I tried to assign HelloWorld to any button, pressing the button returns me a Python error (something like "passing one argument when none were expected", from memory). When I try to assign any thing else, there is no visible effect.

I have tried to record macros, with actions "select cells", "data->sort->col->OK" , but, when replaying them, I dont have any result (replaying as single macro, or as attached to buttons).

http://www.tutorialsforopenoffice.org/c ... sheet.html did not help, since he explains how to use Calc for calculations, and, gettings things appear in specific cell, whereas I want the whole sheet to be recomputed.

Like in thunderbird, I want the filter functions to have effect as I type any key. I dont need multiple filtering, so, only the last use text box should have effect. The A column may contain this kind of "misc features".

I dont want functions to get shuffled when inserting a new colomn in the middle.