[Solved] Using a checkmark ("tick") symbol regularly

Discuss the word processor
Rychard

[Solved] Using a checkmark ("tick") symbol regularly

Post by Rychard »

I would like to use a tick symbol regularly in my documents, as I am a teacher. Is there a better way of doing this than each time going to Insert Special Character, scrolling the Font down to Wingdings, then scrolling down the table within Wingdings to locate the tick on the bottom line. In Word, symbols could be selected for a keyboard shortcut. Is this not possible for Special characters in Open Office?

Thanks very much.
Rychard
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Sat Aug 27, 2022 10:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Clarified that "tick" means a checkmark
Rychard, using OpenOffice 3.2 on Windows XP
floris v
Volunteer

Re: using a tick symbol regularly

Post by floris v »

There's no direct way as in Word.

You can do Tools - Macros - Organize, select the user set of macros (your own) and paste the below code at the bottom.
Then Tools - Customize - Keyboard - select macros in the box in the left hand corner, browse through the folder list to your own macros, highlight the new macro, select a keyboard shortcut from the list above, click Change and it should work (it took me a while to figure that out without the Help).

Code: Select all

sub tick
rem ----------------------------------------------------------------------
rem define variables
dim document   as object
dim dispatcher as object
rem get access to the document
document   = ThisComponent.CurrentController.Frame
dispatcher = createUnoService("com.sun.star.frame.DispatchHelper")

dim args1(1) as new com.sun.star.beans.PropertyValue
args1(0).Name = "Symbols"
args1(0).Value = ""
args1(1).Name = "FontName"
args1(1).Value = "Wingdings"

dispatcher.executeDispatch(document, ".uno:InsertSymbol", "", 0, args1())

end sub
If your problem has been solved, please edit the first post in this thread and add [Solved] to the title bar.