[Solved] Base form or Query with calculated fields

Creating tables and queries
Debbie7

[Solved] Base form or Query with calculated fields

Post by Debbie7 »

Hiya All
My name is Debbie, I'm a Community Nurse here the UK,

I'm new to o0o and with the help of Dai's tutorials found here <http://showmedo.com/videos/?author=1922> (Thanks Dai !)
been trying to set up a database for my "Daily Call Logs" with Base.
However I'm totally lost about how to "total" the time spent with each client automatically and keep a running total of time worked each month.

I have tried to set up a query taking the data from "end time" minus "start time" and setting up a new column for the resulting data which i read on this thread: http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/ ... f=13&t=955 but keep getting error msgs.

I have had to export the data to a spreadsheet to get the results for the last couple of weeks until i can nail this.

Here are the fields I've set up

1. ID ..................................(primary Key = No input)
2. Date ...............................(Input Date)
3. Start Time .......................(Input Time)
4. End Time ........................(input Time)
5. Clients Name ..................(input Name)

Thanks in advance
Debbie :-)

PS. I'm not dumb & willing to learn.

open office v. 2.3.1
Sun Builder Ext. (which is really lost me)
Win XP sp2
Last edited by Debbie7 on Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sliderule
Volunteer

Re: Base form or Query with calculated fields

Post by Sliderule »

Debbie7:

I will assume, you are using HSQL as your database. HSQL is the 'default' database in OpenOffice Base . . . and, you can confirm this when you open your database, if, on the status bar at the bottom, it says: "Embedded database" and "HSQL database engine".

You have asked . . .
Debbie7 wrote:I have tried to set up a query taking the data from "end time" minus "start time" and setting up a new column for the resulting data