[Solved] Move Menu Bar and remove Scroll Bars - Possible?

Discuss setup / installation issues - Add a spell checker, Language pack?
Old Faithful

[Solved] Move Menu Bar and remove Scroll Bars - Possible?

Post by Old Faithful »

Hello,

I am a new user coming from Office 2000. I have been using MS Word since 1993, and after years of use and millions of words written, I have set it up to work in full page print preview mode, in other words, I work on a full page as a matter of course.

In Word 2000 and 97, I am able to move all tool bars on the left so that the full page fills the screen and is actually legible. I have moved a few toolbars in OO, but am unable to move the menu bar and the scroll bars, significantly reducing the usability of working in true, full-page, WYSIWYG mode.

I have made a search here for a way to get these basic functionalities in OO, but without success.

I would be grateful if someone could let me know whether I have high hopes and it is basically impossible, in which case I won't waste any more of my time and yours, or whether it is hidden in some obscure setting in some registry entry or INI file.

Thank you for your help and understanding!
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Sun Oct 04, 2015 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
OpenOffice 3.21
RoryOF

Re: Move Menu Bar and remove Scroll Bars - is it possible?

Post by RoryOF »

I don't know, but there may be another solution. If you are using Nvidia graphics, as far as I remember they will allow you to rotate your display, and you can then rotate the fashionable wide displays to obtain a Portrait screen, ideal for document preparation.
 Edit: Later: I don't think it is possible to move all of the toolbars, but some are moveable. See
http://wiki.services.openoffice.org/wik ... _interface
for more info. 
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
Carnaby Crimson

Post by Carnaby Crimson »