My experience creating a book in OpenOffice.org

Writing a book, Automating Document Production - Discuss your special needs here
greyham

My experience creating a book in OpenOffice.org

Post by greyham »

I am a writer, and I use the OpenOffice.org Office Productivity Suite exclusively in my work. I like it because it's free, is community-supported, and has most of the features that I really need to get my job done.

I recently finished the 3rd draft of my first book, Freedom To Live, so I know what it's like to use OpenOffice.org Writer to create and edit a significant work of 400 pages, with over 30 chapters, a two-level table of contents, and several pictures. I also used OpenOffice.org Draw for the cover design, and PDF export to generate files to send to Lulu for printing. I was pleased to find that OpenOffice.org was up to the task, but there were a few quirks I had to navigate and some missing features which made the task more painful than I would have liked.

I partitioned my book as one sub-document per chapter with a master document containing the top-level table of contents and separating pages for the various sections. This approach worked really well because the text is huge; over 130,000 words. By avoiding applying formatting directly to paragraphs and using styles consistently, I could make global style changes just by editing the styles in the master document. I could also set the page size in the master document to what I needed for publishing, while leaving the page sizes in the sub-documents more appropriate for easy editing on-screen.