Saving data continuously

Discuss the database features
Dan Robinson

Saving data continuously

Post by Dan Robinson »

I work as an academic advisor, and I've created an OpenOffice database for managing information on my students. It's saved on a secure university server, which unfortunately goes down from time to time. Whenever the server goes down, I end up losing all the data I've entered that day, which is a huge problem. (This has happened to me twice now.)

It seems like Base doesn't really save the data I'm entering until I close or save the entire file. (Sometimes, confusingly, the "save" icon isn't even available, although I've clearly created and/or modified records since the last save.)

I want Base to save changes to the database IMMEDIATELY as I make them (i.e., whenever I update a record). That way, I will never lose any data. Is there a way to do this?

Thanks,

Dan
OOo 2.3.X on Mac OSx Leopard + Windows XP
r4zoli
Volunteer

Re: saving data continuously

Post by r4zoli »

It caused by HSQLDB running in memory and files remain open until Quickstarter not closed.
One possible solution:
Open SQL window and insert the command:
Code:
CHECKPOINT DEFRAG
then save the ODB file.

If you're looking for a full reference of SQL commands you can find it in HSQLDB documentation.
AOO 4.0 and LibO 4 on Win 8
Hungarian forum co-admin
Dan Robinson

Post by Dan Robinson »

Hmmm... It sounds like you understand the problem, but I'm not sure I understand your solution. I don't know how to code in SQL or anything like that. I'm just an "averge Joe" user, so I'm going to need step-by-step instructions here. Thanks for your help!
r4zoli
Volunteer

Post by r4zoli »

1. Open your Base Database file
2. From the Menu: Tools -> SQL... -> in the Command to execute area, enter:

Code: Select all

CHECKPOINT DEFRAG

3. Press Execute button

See attached screen shot:
Attachments
after executing command
after executing command
Hungarian forum co-admin
Dan Robinson