File Selection control on Base Forms

Discuss the database features
boatfreq

File Selection control on Base Forms

Post by boatfreq »

I would like to store file names rather than images in my database, and would like to use the "File Selection" feature found under "more controls" on my form to load the data. Is there a way to link this data entry feature to a database field? If not, any suggestions on providing a point-and-click data entry feature for image file names?
QuazzieEvil
Volunteer

Re: File Selection control on Base Forms

Post by QuazzieEvil »

this control is not data-aware (you cannot bind it to a table column). you can provide an event handler for the Text Modified event of this control (file control) to update the desired column based on the url selected.
boatfreq

Post by boatfreq »

Thanks -- I'm sure this will work if I can figure out the simple macro code, but I am not a coder. Here are the details:

I have a product catalog database ("Catalog") and a form ("Products") to enter data. The "File Selection" control updates a form text field ("FileSelection"), and have set the text modified event to execute a macro called ChangeFName.

Now I need a simple macro to update the "ImageFName" field in the Catalog database field to equal "FileSelection". I tried the following code (keep in mind I don't know what I am doing, and may be totally off base!).

Sub ChangeFName
Dim TopForm As Object
TopForm = ThisComponent.DrawPage.Forms.GetByName("MainForm")
TopForm.GetByName("ImageFName") = TopForm.GetByName("FileSelection")
End sub

XRay tells me that "MainForm" is the correct form name, but I cannot find any of my data elements using GetByName. Of course XRay confirms this error. I cannot find any of my data elements in XRay.
QuazzieEvil
Volunteer

Post by QuazzieEvil »

A couple of things: