Can anyone help me convert my ODB file to SQL?

Discuss the database features
russadspec

Can anyone help me convert my ODB file to SQL?

Post by russadspec »

Howdy, y'all!

Can anyone help tutor me on how to convert my ODB database file into SQL format so I can use it?

I'm a newbie web developer creating an online store for someone. The setup requires a database for inventory. That database must then be loaded onto the hosting site's MySQL server to be used. I was told to create a database, then upload it, but know one told me the database had to be in SQL format first.

---Lost
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Can anyone help me convert my ODB file to SQL?

Post by Villeroy »

menu:Tools>SQL...
SCRIPT '/tmp/dbscript.sql'
Dumps the SQL to build the database schema.

Another method extracts the whole HSQLDB including data, so it can be served by a stand-alone hsql server: http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/ ... 13&t=12117
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
russadspec

Post by russadspec »

Ok - Thanxs! ... but, I entered '/tmp/dbscript.sql' (with the quotes) in the "Command to execute" area in the SQL dialogue box, but it just comes up with the response, "Unexpected token: '/tmp/dbscript.sql' ..." in the "Status" area below it.

Then I tried it without the quotes and nearly the same response comes back, "Unexpected token: / in statement [/]"

So, what's supposed to happen and what do I do next? I'm a bit confused since I'm such a rookie ...!

Are there any freeware programs floating out there that'll do the job?

--------RW
OOo 2.3.X on Ms Windows XP
Pat01

Post by Pat01 »

You have to enter the word SCRIPT too. I believe the file path also has to exist. I entered

SCRIPT 'c:/my documents/dbscript.sql'

and it seemed to work.
russadspec

Post by russadspec »

Thanx! That last one worked at it did make the SQL file.